And the Hollyshorts OSCAR®-qualifier goes to…

We have the winners of the 18th Annual Hollyshorts Film Festival 2022 Winners to share with you today!

Previous HollyShorts Film Festival OSCAR® winners presented prizes at the 2022 Awards at the Chinese Theatre on August 20th, to celebrate and support the new winners.  This year’s Academy Award Winners for Live Action Short Film Riz Ahmed and Aneil Karia (The Long Goodbye), presented the Oscar-qualifying Grand Prix Best Short prize via video, for HALLELUJAH to Victor Gabriel. Academy Award winner Jamie Ray Newman (Skin) took the stage to present the OSCAR® qualifying Best Live Action award to Seemab Gul for MULAQAT/SANDSTORM and OSCAR® winner Guy Nattiv (Skin) presented the Best Director award to Carlos Segundo for SCALE.

Three films from HollyShorts Film Festival’s 18th edition are moving on to be qualified for Oscar® gold in 2023. The festival took place this week in-person at the TCL Chinese Theatres, Japan House LA and various locations throughout Hollywood. The online edition of the festival will be available on Bitpix TV, the festival’s digital platform until August 28, 2022. If you missed a screening block or simply want to revisit one of these amazing HollyShorts shorts, get access over on BitPix!
OSCAR®-qualifying Grand Prix Best Short “HALLELUJAH” Victor Gabriel

*The Grand Prix Best Short Award Winner will be qualified for Oscars® 2023 and receive a $15,000 camera package from Panavision, a sales deal from Eroin Films, and a management meeting with Alta Global Media.OSCAR®-qualifying Best Live Action
Seemab Gul
 OSCAR®-qualifying Best Animation “SCALE” Joseph Pierce 
Best Director “SIDERAL”Carlos Segundo 
Best Action “KICKSTART MY HEART” Kelsey Bollig 
Best Comedy “ALL I EVER WANTED” Erin Lau 
Best Costume Design“SAUERDOGS” Carmen Granell 
Best Drama “LIKE THE ONES I USED TO KNOW” Annie St.-Pierre 
Best Documentary “MINK!” Ben Proudfoot 
Best Editing “THE MACHINE” Rowan McKay 
Best Female Screenplay Presented by BeCine“LAST SHIP EAST” Eris Qian 
Best Horror“MOSHARI” Nuhash Humayun 
Best International“THE VOICE ACTRESS” Anna J. Takayama 
Latinx Award Presented by Viacom International Studios “HUELLA” Gabriela Ortega 
Best LGBTQIA+“NORTH STAR” P.J. Palmer starring Colman Domingo 
Best Midnight Madness“HOMESICK” Will Seefried
SAGindie Winner“MY JEROME”Adjani Salmon 
Best Music Video“CONSENSUAL” Jeff Hilliard and Joey Danger 
Best Producer“HALLELUJAH” Duran Jones
Best Podcast “Earth Eclipsed” Nicholas Prufer
 Hawk Films Screenplay Award“MINA FINDS HER EDGE!”Robin Rose Singer

*This Award will receive a $20,000 production package from Hawk Films UK and the finished film will screen at HollyShorts 2023. 
Best Screenplay Award Presented By Seattle Film Summit

Dan Martin

*The winner will get a Seattle Film Summit & 88th Street/HollyShorts grant of $25,000 and the finished film will screen at HollyShorts 2023, as well as a Fest Formula consultation
Best Sci-Fi “WALTZ OF THE ANGELS” Braden Barton 
Script Compass Screenplay Award “IN THE GARDEN OF TULIPS” Ava Lalezarzadeh 
Kodak Best Shot on Film “NORTH POLE” Marija Apceyska 
Kodak Shot on Film Super 8MM “DEERWOODS DEATHTRAP” James P. Gannon 
Kodak Shot on Film Honorable Mention “NOT THE 80s”Marleen Valien 
Social Impact Award“STRANGER AT THE GATE”Joshua Seftel
Best Student Film“THE VISIT”Ebele Tate 
Best Thriller“WILD BITCH” Rebekka Johnson and Kate Nash 
Best TV Screenplay“FORSYTH COUNTY” James Sasser

*The winner will get an option from 88th Street Productions and Final Draft software Best VFX“BLACK DRAGON (Rồng đen)” Alexander Thompson 
Best Web Series“KURA” Vince McMillan 
Women in Film Award “APART, TOGETHER” Olivia Hang Zhou 
ZEISS Presents: Hollyshorts Film Festival Achievement in Filmmaking and Cinematography “CENSOR OF DREAMS” Khalib Mohtaseb
ZEISS Presents: HollyShorts Film Festival Achievement in Filmmaking and Cinematography Nancy Schreiber

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: